SwimMark accreditation is Swim England’s quality standard for clubs.  It recognises high standards of governance, sustainability and effectiveness.

Any affiliated Swim England club can apply for the accreditation, regardless of your club’s size or the disciplines you deliver.

What is SwimMark about?

  • Creating the best possible swimming experience for all
  • Raising the quality of aquatics provision across all areas
  • National Sport England Clubmark recognition for great quality clubs

There are three SwimMark modules.

This is the primary module for clubs, helping you to achieve good governance, grow membership, develop volunteers and ensure your activity is sustainability and in line with your club objectives. It is accredited every two years.

Club Essential documents

You can access all documents needed to attain Essential status in the Swim England library here. These documents will help you understand what you need to do to become a SwimMark Essential club.

You can find out which clubs have completed the SwimMark Essential Club module here

This module encourages clubs to work collaboratively across a localised area.  This approach helps athletes to maximise their potential and be retained in the sport.  It also increases volunteer opportunities and helps to raise the standards of teaching and coaching.

The Network accreditation lasts for two years and consists of three elements:  a development plan, a training needs analysis and a signed terms of reference.

Your club must achieve the SwimMark Essential Club accreditation before it can become a SwimMark Network member.

You can find out which clubs have completed the SwimMark Network module here.


The Performance module provides a benchmark for clubs coaching and developing high-level athletes across the four sports (swimming, diving, water polo and synchro).

Clubs need to demonstrate that athlete pathways, the physical environment, quality coaching practices and support services are all in place for athletes to reach the pinnacle of their aquatic sport.  Performance standards are measured by England Programmes.

Depending on the discipline, there are a range of elements to complete to attain the Performance level.  Once achieved, the accreditation will last for two years.

Your club must have achieved SwimMark Essential Club and be actively engaged with a Network to achieve your Performance accreditation.

You can find out which clubs have completed the SwimMark Performance module here.

How to become a SwimMark Club?

Click the button below to email the Swim England Club Development team and start your journey to becoming a SwimMark accredited club.